Speeding Tickets in Memphis TN

We Handle Speeding Tickets in Memphis TN and Shelby County

Memphis Speeding Ticket Attorneys Work Hard To Keep You On The Road

speeding tickets in memphis tn

In Tennessee Traffic ticket fines and costs vary across the State of Tennessee. You have two options: 

1) Plead guilty or decide not to contest it or

2) Fight the ticket and plead not guilty to charges alleged.

If you decide to plead guilty to traffic ticket:

 [pullquote]The Department of safety (DOS) adds points to your driving record based on the offense on a scale of 1 to 8. Points remain on your record for a period of 24 months. If you accumulate 12 points or more, The Tennessee Department of Safety will send you a notice of suspension letter in the mail[/pullquote]

·         Pay the fine and incur points on your record ( Tennessee is on a 12-point based system)

·         Increase in auto insurance rates

·         Taking a Defensive Driving Class and getting the ticket dismissed

Fight Your Speeding Ticket In Court With An Attorney

If you decide to fight the traffic ticket:

 

·         Contest the traffic ticket during a hearing

·         Represent yourself or hire an attorney to represent you

·         No penalties if found not guilty

·         Appeal a guilty verdict

 

The fines are typically listed on your traffic ticket, although this will not include the court costs associated with it. The Department of safety (DOS) adds points to your driving record based on the offense on a scale of 1 to 8. Points remain on your record for a period of 24 months. If you accumulate 12 points or more, The Tennessee Department of Safety will send you a notice of suspension letter in the mail, you can:

 Schedule an Administrative Hearing To Protect Minor’s Rights and CDL License

Contest these findings in an administrative hearing

·         Accept and you can be offered court-approved defensive driving course ( the court can waive suspension or reduce suspension time)

·         If under the age of 18 DOS will send you a proposed suspension letter after six points and require a defensive driving course

·         If you accumulate between 6 and 9 points you driver’s license can be suspended for 3 to 6 months and if more than 10 points you can get your license suspended for up to six months

·         If under 21 years of age and you convicted of attempting to purchase or possess alcohol you can lose your driving privileges for one year

·         If you are a commercial driver you may be required to notify your employer or DOS within 30 days  if you have received a violation outside of Tennessee.

 

 Accumulating more than 12 points in a one year period can result in your license being suspended or revoked for:

·         DUI involving drugs or alcohol

·         Speeding

·         Motor-vehicle felony

·         Two reckless driving charges in one year

·         Fleeing arrest or an officer

·         Leaving the scene of an accident

·         Repeat violations such as running a red light, stop sign or parking fines.

Leave a Reply