Memphis Attorneys Will Protect Your Right To Drive Every Step Of The Way
If you receive a citation for failure to provide financial responsibility / proof of insurance at the time of the traffic ticket then the Tennessee Department of Safety can place a hold on your license for failure to provide proof of insurance under Tennessee Code Annotated 55-12-139.
In order to renew your license you will have to pay reinstatement fee to renew your registration. In order to reinstate you will need to provide proof of financial responsibility insurance to DOS.
With a suspended, revoked or cancelled license you can no longer legally drive and could be charged with a misdemeanor or felony that could go on your permanent record, face jail time or the payment of fines and court costs. You have options if you have been charged with driving on a suspended license, which might include dismissal or reduction of your charge to a lesser offense.
You have options if you have been charged with driving on a suspended license, which might include dismissal or reduction of your charge to a lesser offense.
Common reasons for your license to be suspended in Tennessee are:
· Too many traffic ticket violations
· DUI drugs or alcohol
· Knowingly driving with physical or mental disabilities that impair driving ability
· Failure to pay traffic ticket or citation
· Failure to pay child support
· Failure to show proof of financial responsibility insurance
· Drag racing
· Driving away without paying for fuel at a gas station
If you accumulate 12 points within 12 months and you are an adult your license can be suspended. It takes far less for your license to be suspended if you are a juvenile.
A teen can only get six points within 12 months. Once you receive a notice you may schedule an administrative hearing, failure to schedule a hearing can result in the suspension of your license, you might be eligible for a driving class that can waive these penalties and allow you to keep your driver license. In addition to the suspension of your license you may face criminal penalties as well. It is good to check your driver’s license status after you have received several traffic ticket violations or have failed to pay a fine or citation. Your license can be suspended anywhere from 3 months to one year. Special rules apply to repeat DUI and failure to provide a Breathalyzer. Call Patrick Brooks for a free consultation regarding your Traffic ticket and give you your options to keep you on the road. In this day and age having a car can almost be a necessity. Call (901) 324-5000 for a free consultation with our Memphis Attorneys.